Follow us on: 
facebook
youtube
flick
 
UNFPA

An International Consultant and a National Consultant for the review of 10-year implementation of the Gender Equality Law

Print Email

 

The UNFPA Viet Nam Country Office is seeking an international consultant and a national consultant with expertise on gender, human rights and law to conduct the review of 10 year implementation of Gender Equality Law. The international consultant will use the international human rights normative frameworks as the analytical frameworks to identify gaps while the national consultant will focus on gaps within the legislation and its implementation.  

Working duration: from December 2017 - 31st December 2018.

Working place: Home-based and Viet Nam (Hanoi & some provinces)

Attachment:

Terms of Reference (TOR)

Terms of Reference (An international consultant)

Terms of Reference (A national consultant)

Contact:

Interested candidates are invited to submit:

  • Statement of Interests
  • Updated Curriculum Vitae and signed UN Personal History form (P-11)
  • Certification or Recommendation of agency that is employing the candidate (if any)

Please email to:

Ms. Pham Thi Huong Thuy, Programme Associate

UNFPA Country Office in Viet Nam

Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

with subject title:

“International consultant for review of GE Law – {Full Name of Applicant}”

or

 “National consultant for review of GE Law – {Full Name of Applicant}”

15h00 (Hanoi Time, GMT+7) on 7 December 2017

 

 

Spotlight

myhealth-myright_en.pdf.png

WORLD AIDS DAY MESSAGE 2017

1 December 2017

Michel Sidibé
Executive Director of UNAIDS
Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations

This World AIDS Day, we are highlighting the importance of the right to health and the challenges that people living with and affected by HIV face in fulfilling that right.


contest_680.jpg

Community spaces design contest for an exciting hanoi

Ha Noi, October 17/10/2017 - Aiming at improving the living environment and bringing culture and art to the community towards a better urban future, United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) successfully developed the project “Promote participatory, community-based and youth-led approach in safe, greening public spaces in Hoan Kiem district toward a pro-poor, inclusive and sustainable urban development” (hereinafter called Public Spaces project) under the Block by Block program with Mojang, the makers of the videogame Minecraft.

 

Deadline for round 1: From 17/10/2017 to 04/11/2017 Extended to 9 November 2017


op-ed-juv-justice-390.jpg

Harsh punishment for child offenders doesn’t prevent further criminality

The age at which a child, can be held criminally liable is a controversial issue around the world. Within Viet Nam, this issue is currently being grappled with in the Penal Code amendments. Some argue that a "get tough on crime" approach is necessary to punish children to prevent further criminality.

However, international research shows that because of their developmental stages, labelling and treating children as criminals at an early age can have serious negative impacts on their development and successful rehabilitation.


rc_ai_new_year_card_300.jpg

New Year Greetings from the United Nations Resident Coordinator a.i. in Viet Nam

 

On the occasion of New Year 2017, on behalf of the United Nations family in Viet Nam I wish to reiterate our appreciation and express our warmest wishes to our partners and friends throughout the country. We wish our partners and their families in Viet Nam peace, prosperity, good health and happiness in the coming year.

As we enter the second year of the Sustainable Development Goals era, we look forward to continuing our close cooperation for the sake of Viet Nam’s future development; one which is inclusive, equitable and sustainable, with no one left behind.

Youssouf Abdel-Jelil
United Nations Resident Coordinator a.i. in Viet Nam


WAD2016.jpg

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon’s message for World AIDS Day, observed on 1 December

 

Thirty-five years since the emergence of AIDS, the international community can look back with some pride.  But we must also look ahead with resolve and commitment to reach our goal of ending the AIDS epidemic by 2030.

There has been real progress in tackling the disease. More people than ever are on treatment.  Since 2010, the number of children infected through mother to child transmission has dropped by half. Fewer people die of AIDS related causes each year.  And people living with HIV are living longer lives.

The number of people with access to life-saving medicines has doubled over the past five years, now topping 18 million. With the right investments, the world can get on the fast-track to achieve our target of 30 million people on treatment by 2030.  Access to HIV medicines to prevent mother to child transmission is now available to more than 75 per cent of those in need.